Admissions Advice for the "Imperfect" DPT Candidate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PT_Strong

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone:

Wherever and whenever you end up reading this, I hope this message finds you well. I'm a current second year student at the University of Pittsburgh that simply wanted to take a second to share. I'll try and keep the personal details to a minimum. My goal is to spread a positive message, not share my own personal story.

I'm 26. I completed my undergrad at Virginia Tech. And I can safely say that my undergraduate GPA is hands-down, by far, the worst of my 57 peers. I graduated with a 3.01 overall, 2.7 pre-req GPA.

On paper, I shouldn't succeed in a doctoral level program. I currently have a 3.85 GPA as a graduate student, hold a leadership position, a part-time training job, train a grappling sport 4-5 days a week, and maintain an instagram & blog.

I applied to PT school twice. My first round, I applied to 10 schools. I received 9 rejections and 1 (Pitt) put me on their wait-list. My second round, I went 1/1.

Why am I posting here? Because I want those of you who have "sub-par" GPAs to read this. Realize that you don't need a 3.8 or above to get into a good program. You simply need to go the extra step, sell yourself, and show that you belong.

I know it was frustrating for me to comb through there forums and see posts with the OP asking if their 3.5 was good enough to get into school (I literally just read one that had a 3.85/4.0 pre-req...). I felt dejected. I knew 100% that my future is in physical therapy, but I felt inadequate. How was I supposed to get into a program if people with 3.8s were nervous about being accepted?