Admissions Consideration of College Athletics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TDF1140

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just wondering if dental admissions takes into consideration the time and effort for college athletics? For instance if I would have a slightly below average GPA, say a 3.3 would they consider the fact I play a college sport? I play Division II Baseball by the way (just in case it matters). But I'm just asking as I'm a freshman and I want to know if I should stick with baseball or focus on school if all it's doing is hurting my chances.

Members don't see this ad.

I was just wondering if dental admissions takes into consideration the time and effort for college athletics? For instance if I would have a slightly below average GPA, say a 3.3 would they consider the fact I play a college sport? I play Division II Baseball by the way (just in case it matters). But I'm just asking as I'm a freshman and I want to know if I should stick with baseball or focus on school if all it's doing is hurting my chances.

If you can have a 3.8 or 3.7 without baseball, it is still better than 3.3 with division II baseball captain. IMHO, maximize your chance at having the highest GPA possible, you will have less headache and nerve wreck later.

then, volunteer at soup kitchen or do other charity event will more than likely make up for the tremendous amount of time and physical energy professional baseball will draw from you.

best of luck

Reactions: 1 user
Is it possible to manage time for both? GPA definitely more important but playing a college sport also makes you stand out. An activity like this shows your commitment (spending a ton of your time over several years) and time management skills. The fact that you excel at it is even better and will look great on your application. Aim for atleast 3.5, if you can't then baseball may hurt your chances.

Reactions: 1 user