Admissions question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

johnnycash

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. Newbie here. I would like to apply to DO school and I am currently taking my pre-reqs at my local CC. I practice law full-time and the CC is the only program that is close to my work and cost-effective. I finished BIO & Gen Chem with 3 As and a B. Orgo I is next. I can only take 1 class at a time b/c they are at night. My UGPA is a 3.4. Being that I graduated law school and own my own practice, is it going to hurt my chances taking my classes at a CC? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

johnnycash said:
Hello. Newbie here. I would like to apply to DO school and I am currently taking my pre-reqs at my local CC. I practice law full-time and the CC is the only program that is close to my work and cost-effective. I finished BIO & Gen Chem with 3 As and a B. Orgo I is next. I can only take 1 class at a time b/c they are at night. My UGPA is a 3.4. Being that I graduated law school and own my own practice, is it going to hurt my chances taking my classes at a CC? Thanks.

I am also taking courses at a CC and am a full-time practicing speech-language pathologist in private practice. I've posted this before - (and if you do a search on "community college" you will find more threads on this topic) - since I already have a graduate degree I talked with the schools I was interested in applying to. They did not look down on the CC courses since through graduate school it was apparent I could handle a rigorous course load. They did say that it was important to do well on the MCAT, so that's what I'm shooting for now.

As long as you continue to do well in your courses and on the MCAT you should do fine. But, talk to the schools you are interested in for sure. It will set your mind at ease.

Members don't see this ad :)
johnnycash said:

Hi there,