Advice for a Surgery Prelim Intern?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GonefromTX

Resident
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm an incoming surgery prelim intern in an academic program. A little background on me: I originally applied ortho, didn't match, ended up with prelim surgery in my home program. My stats: US AMG, Step 1/2CK: 250/249, Step 2 CS passed on second attempt, 3rd year clerkship grades 2H/2HP/3P.

I'm currently trying to do well in my prelim year and reapply next year to a general surgery categorical program, as I've found (a little late) that I'm genuinely interested in general surgery now that the ortho boat has sailed.

I was hoping for some guidance/advice from y'all regarding how to strengthen my application for next year, besides getting great LORs and doing well on rotations. Specifically, is it important to get a Step 3 score by the time of reapplication? How important is a great step 3 score, or is it not important at all once its above a passing score? Or is it more important spend more time and to do well on the ABSITE?

Also, would you recommend applying to radiology as backup? I truly have a passion for surgery but would also like to be realistic about my expectations as a reapplicant and would be content in a radiology position too. Or should I just apply broadly to 100+ general surgery programs next year? I would be more than happy ending up in any gen surg program in the country.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,

I'm an incoming surgery prelim intern in an academic program. A little background on me: I originally applied ortho, didn't match, ended up with prelim surgery in my home program. My stats: US AMG, Step 1/2CK: 250/249, Step 2 CS passed on second attempt, 3rd year clerkship grades 2H/2HP/3P.