Advice for IMG student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chrispobl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow medical students, my name is Christian and I am currently a 4th year medical student in Mexico. I am interested in doing my residency in the U.S. and I am just about ready to take step 1 of the USMLE. I would greatly appreciate it if any of you could recommend some residency programs for Emergency Medicine. I have been doing some research and I have been told that Johns Hopkins, Yale, and University of Washington have good programs. It might be a little to early to worry about residency positions, as I am 2 years away from graduating and taking part 2 of the test, however, I just want to be aware of the opportunities available overseas.

I am also interested in pursuing a PhD in Biomedical Sciences, however, I am not sure if I should do it before my residency or after. Again, it might be too early, but I would really like it if you can share some of your thoughts with me.

Thank you very much in advance for your help and Happy Easter! ( I might be a bit late :) )

Best,

Christian

Members don't see this ad.

3tlolj.jpg

In the chance you are serious, your chances of getting an Emergency Medicine residency are awful, and are likely only going to get worse. IMG's typically aren't even considered unless they've made ground breaking advances in their fields at the "top institutions" you've listed.

Data: http://www.nrmp.org/data/resultsanddata2012.pdf