Advice for MD/Ph.D applicants (ECs, electives, etc.)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

david9317

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone! I'm currently a sophomore chemistry major at a private institution in Puerto Rico. I'm interested in applying for MD/Ph. D programs after graduating, and I have some doubts on how I should prepare for the application process.

How important are ECs for MSTP applicants? I haven't done any volunteering so far, but I've done around 300 hours of research since February this year. Should I start doing volunteering/getting clinical experience or should I focus on research? My research is on materials science and I plan to apply to 2019 summer internship programs focused on biomedical research. My biomedical interests are along the lines of gene therapy, so I'm searching for programs that have mentors in this area.

Also, which electives should I take? I'm planning on taking Anatomy classes, Genetics and Molecular Cell Biology. Since many med schools now require applicants at least a year of advanced social sciences, should I take more of them? I've taken just one so far.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

You should continue doing research, and start getting in the hospital in some capacity. You get asked a lot: “What have you done to confirm your interest in medicine?” and you need to have a meaningful answer.

Summer research is a good idea. I feel it helps to do something only slightly related to what you’re doing now; it broadens your scientific thinking, and people are impressed by the breadth.

College electives don’t matter. Just keep your grades up. Choose things that are intellectually interesting to you and that you can be passionate about—it’s college!

Reactions: 1 user