Advice for New NICU Fellow

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tribeca

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a new NICU fellow about to start service after two weeks of boot camp/orientation/shadowing rounds. I'll be in a unit with residents, med students, and NP's. This is a new fellowship so I am new to them too. What specific things should I be doing for rounds? I'm currently in "resident mode" and know exactly what to do as a resident but not exactly sure as a fellow.

Members don't see this ad.

Initially your job is to be a "super senior resident" until you really get to know the system, the EHR and most importantly the staff. By the end of your first month you should have that fully in hand, have gained some measure of respect by the staff (attendings, residents, nurses and the wonderful person who empties the trash in the NICU each day), then you can take more of a teaching role. Try to always remember it is your primary job to educate, not evaluate, residents and med students, save most if not all of the pimping for the attending. Since having a fellow is new to them, you'll have to develop your role on rounds and gradually take the lead in managing resident questions about TPN, vent settings, etc. This will take time but it has to happen for you to be effective and if it doesn't, you need to talk to the attendings and make sure they understand that gradually it is your job to lead rounds while they continue to teach and make big picture decisions. Good luck and let us know how it goes!

Thanks OBP. I'm also a new NICU fellow, pretty nervous about starting clinical service. While I loved my residency program, it didn't give us as much NICU experience as some programs do, so I'm a little worried I'll be behind my attendings' expectations for a new fellow, and also a little behind the residents at my new institution. Any advice or thoughts?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)