Advice for preparing to start at UoP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fulcrum77

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be starting D-School at UoP on July 7th of this year. It seems like this date is coming up fairly fast! I'm starting to get a bit anxious and I would like some preparation advice from current students and recent grads.

Here's my story: I am a non-trad student that applied last cycle and got wait-listed. UoP is where I really wanted to go so I decided to wait out the year and re-apply MUCH earlier for this cycle. Needless to say, I was accepted for this round. I've been working in the IT field for the past year just making money and enjoying my life. The problem is, I haven't done a lot of dental related stuff since then and not to mention I haven't touched a text book since May. I'm afraid that the UoP first-year juggernaut is going to pound me in the face!

For D-school I took the bare minimum classes needed to apply. These were G-chem 2, O-chem 1+2, Biochem 1, Human Anatomy, General Zoo, and Vertebrate Zoo.

I was wondering what others thought was the hardest classes for them during their first year? I'm specifically looking for UoP info, but experiences from any other D-school would be greatly appreciated also!

I've been hearing a lot about Gross Anatomy. I have the Netter book, as well as Gray's Anatomy for reference. Is there any other anatomy books/websites out there that people really like? What do you feel is the hardest area of anatomy?

Also, I had a question on whether I should start collecting teeth from my dentist buddy? I vaguely remember a post long ago about needing teeth for some schools, but it has been quite some time since then. Do I need to start collecting soon for UoP? Thanks to everyone in advance for the replies! :)

Members don't see this ad.