Advice for rusty pre-med student, I have lots of questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ziggyd0c

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am beginning my MCAT studying to take a test in the spring/summer (I'm pretty flexible). I graduated from undergrad in Apr 2008 with a BS and major in Philosophy. However, most of my science pre-reqs were taken during sophomore and junior year and as a result I'm pretty rusty. I've been looking through my study book (Barron's 2009) and a lot of the material is stuff I never even learned before. I excelled at organic chem in undergrad, but I've forgotten almost everything... I'm hoping doing chem again will be like riding a bike. I recently took a physics class so I'm not as worried about that, but I get very nervous thinking about the biological sciences part.

I know that these books are intended to be a "review", but will they be adequate for someone who essentially a first-time learner? How much time do I need to prepare? I'm not doing much else right now so I can devote several hours a day to studying if need be. What methods would you recommend? Right now I'm basically going through and putting everything onto flash cards, but I don't know if that's going to help me in the long run. I can't take a classroom course (there aren't any in my area) but I wouldn't be opposed to an online course. Are they useful? I am just worried that I won't be prepared in time with my current pace. Study planning has never been one of my strong points :oops:

Thanks everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

If you say that you never "learned" much of this material, then you can't review what you haven't learned in the first place. You would be better served taking a classroom course rather than attempting to prepare for this very important test with a review book.