advice needed for older student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asdasd12345

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello, i am a 27 year old british male married to a american girl. i have recently decided i want to become a doctor. however, this comes after many years of career indecisiveness.

i graduated from UF in 1999 with a BS in advertising with a terrible gpa of 2.9. since then i have took math classes up to diff eq and physics w/ calculus and done well. however back in 1995 i took gen bio and gen chem and got a D and C in them.

i understand the odds are probably against me, but i am trying to fathom the best strategy to get me into medical school. i am planning on doing another BS in comp. sci (something i am very sure i can do well in) while retaking the premeds at the local community college up the road. will my chances be tarnished by the poor grades i recieved at college many years ago, or if i can prove i can do well in a relatively hard subject like comp science, will that get me in? i also have the option of returning to england to become a doctor. any help is much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

They like upward trends in your GPA. They don't like community college courses for your science prereqs. Do well in your classes and do well on your MCAT and you'll be set. Good luck.

hey