Advice needed-Graduated with 3.0 oGPA, 2.98 sGPA. Should I do a post bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
M

mitrieD

I graduated from UCSD in 2014 and I'm currently studying for my DAT. I got an overall GPA of 3.0 and science GPA of 2.98, even though I worked so hard and hardly had fun :(.

Anyways I've been thinking that it may not be a good idea to apply this cycle since my GPA is so low. Should I apply for a post bacc or masters instead? If so, wouldn't it be too late to apply for fall semester for post bacc or masters since its currently spring?

I don't have any amazing extracurriculars.... but by June I'll have around 100 hours of shadowing and 100 hours of volunteer work, but I feel like my extracurriculars need to be much better than that.

Any advice? Anyone in the same boat last year and still applied? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
The gold stars you get from volunteer work will not make up for the low gpa.

The gold stars you get from volunteer work will not make up for the low gpa.

Not sure if you're being sarcastic, but of course measly volunteer hours won't make up for anything. I just don't know what would be the best path to pursue in this position. I'm highly considering a plan B from dentistry even though I spent so much time and money down the pre dental path.

Members don't see this ad :)
I got accepted the first time with a little lower GPA than yours, a 22 on the DAT, a really extensive amount of EC, and high quality letters of rec. I'm not suggesting you to apply or not, just letting you know it's possible.

Reactions: 1 user
I also got accepted with similar GPA to yours though I only had a 19 on my DAT. I also had a master's degree.