Advice: Non-traditional applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jarwel

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is a little background on myself. I am 27 years old and I graduated in 2003 with a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from a state school in Texas. I didn't start thinking about medical school until my senior year in college. As far as grades go my first three years of college are basically horrible. Semester averages bounce all over the place, anywhere between a 3.4 and a 2.1. To my credit, I did work 30-35 hours a week nearly the entire time, but I can't really use this as an excuse for my poor academic performance. Although it varies from class to class the reason I did poorly is that I skipped a lot of school. I never studied; in fact I didn't even buy the books half of the time. After a while it just seemed like a waste of money since I didn't bother to read them anyway.

I started taking my biology classes my senior year and I've taken the following: Biology I, Biology II, Biochemistry, Anatomy & Physiology I, and Anatomy & Physiology II.

I took calculus based Physics I & II back when I was a freshman.

After I graduated, I left school and took a job as a Software Engineer. About a year and a half later in 2005 and 2006 I went back to school part time and finished up my chemistry courses: Chemistry I, Chemistry II, Organic I and Organic II. I was going to apply to medical school then but I backed out of it for various reasons.

Now, almost two years later, I've decided that I still want to go to medical school and I'm going to try and apply this year. I have not taken the MCAT yet but I am studying for it now and I am hoping to make the May 31st admission. I am still working full time as a Software Engineer and also volunteering 4 hours a weak in the ER of a nearby hospital.

Here is my GPA breakdown.

Weighted (According to my school with +'s and -'s).