advice on dealing with PI/situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dragonfly99

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi.
first time post on this particular forum.
I am an MD with background of being a lab tech x 3 years before med school, and having done a residency. I'm now doing a research fellowship which is basically bench research, with a little bit of a clinical component.

Since I've been in this lab x 1.5 years, things have been going terrible from a science standpoint. I think this is due to multiple factors, the most important of which are
a) very, very difficult project that was assigned to me, that may in fact be impossible to do (not just my opinion, but others have agreed...very risky project)
b) project and its techniques are out of my area(s) of knowledge...heavy duty chemistry and biochem (mass spec, HPLC, chemical extractin techniques, etc.) whereas my background is medicine and basic bio lab techniques like cell culture, transfections, northern, southern, western blots, etc.
c) little communication between the PI and myself, and the PI's assigned PhD "lab manager" (who actually runs the show in terms of day to day lab operations) and the fact that both these people are stretched too thin. For example, I only get feedback about my project about Q6 weeks or so in a general lab meeting with 10 people there, but not really 1 on 1 meetings to any significant extent (unless you count 1 or 2 minute conversations in the hallway).

It's probably fruitless at this juncture, but I'd appreciate any input about what to do. I'm only going to be here another 5 months, so I think I'm hosed, but it's just disappointing to be getting crap or no results and wasting the government's money as well (since they are paying me).

Members don't see this ad.