Advice on how to get Clinical Experience (struggling)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premed_hopeful101

Reaction score
I'm struggling to find clinical jobs in my area, I've done many interviews since October to scribe and unfortunately never get hired. I am a current graduate student and I get told each time that I am not an ideal choice since my class schedule changes every semester and can't commit to certain days for a year since I have school.

Currently I have:
- Volunteering at a pediatrics unit (i help with toy distributions and patients when they arrive once a week) so I will have around 65 hours by June. I'm not allowed to volunteer more than 2 hours there hence only 65 hours
- My undergraduate thesis was clinical research, so I do have experience working with participants (I conducted ultrasounds, took blood pressure, etc.) A total of 280-300 hours, maybe 60-70 hours of that I spent doing the experimentation with people throughout the school year

Since I haven't had much luck in my search, I'm not too sure what to do? Will it look bad if I again gain clinical experience through a research lab as this is a way that I can get a large amount of experience (ie not just 2 hours a week)
I would ideally like to apply this coming cycle so I feel a bit stuck

Members don't see this ad.

-Opthalmology Assistant- Ive come across many eye docs that need help with procedures and most will train you.
-Medical Scribe position that includes clinical duties. These are rare, since a lot of scribe positions say they want someone strictly to do clerical tasks, but I have been able to scribe while also setting up for procedures and being a little bit more involved. If you look for specialties that are not 9-5 (ER, for example) then you may have flexibility with your schedule.