Advice on how to strengthen application (Rising Junior)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheRealG58

Reaction score
I am a current sophomore, graduating in Spring 2025 and planning on applying the summer after my graduation (so 1 gap year). Advisors haven't been very helpful, so I'm looking for places to improve my app to help my chances

State: FL

Demographics: URM/Black/Male/FGLI

GPA: 3.98 sGPA: 3.97 (A- in Orgo 2)

Taking Physics 1/Biochem in Fall and Physics 2 in Spring to finish up prereqs

Major/School: Anthropology at a large state school

MCAT: N/A; Taking summer 2024

ECs:

Clinical:
256 hrs as a volunteer CNA/MA at a free clinic for patients without insurance (current)

350 hrs from my PCT job last summer (not able to return to this position this summer)

38 hrs shadowing (PM&R/Peds/Ortho) + 40 hrs virtual shadowing

Non-Clinical Volunteering:

~60 hrs as part of a group running a health education fair at elementary/middle schools in the area (current position, may stop)

40-50 hrs as a mentor to low-income high school students applying to college (current position)

~30 hrs from various volunteer activities from club sport

Other:

500-600 hrs as a member of a competitive club sport team (intercollegiate) (current position)

~150-180 hrs as a research assistant in a health equity research lab (no pub)

~100-150 hrs as part of HvZ Nerf group on campus (hobby)

Schools:
Interested in all FL MD schools except NOVA/FIU
Still researching OOS