advice on how to study/start studying for mcat during gap years?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ariaofthesoul

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m a recent grad of ‘23 back in May and am currently taking two gap years to save up money + strengthen my application due to my low GPA.

I currently work 45 hours a week as a medical assistant at a dermatology clinic and will be working for about a year since it’s two of the practices I’m interested in, the other being gastroenterology.

I’m trying to take the MCAT in April to see what my baseline and then adjust my next steps (post bac and possible MPH) would be but I’m so intimidated and I barely have 4 hours every day when I come back from work.

Any advice on how to study when time is against you or any advice as to where to start. Thanks :)

Members don't see this ad.

Time isn't against you, you have enough. You'll be working like 80 hours a week between your job, volunteering/shadowing, and studying though, but hey, that's medical training, might as well get used to it now.

1. Review the material. Kaplan books, Khan academy videos, whatever works for you. It doesn't really matter. USE ANKI CARDS so you don't forget stuff. Do those everyday no matter what. You can make your own or there are decks others have made you can try. For equations, keep a master list to memorize as you learn them.

2. Practice exams. I took 10. And make an excel spreadhseet with how you missed each question after you take them. Then take whatever knowledge gap you had and fill those.

Once you've finished content review (maybe a couple months?), repeat step 2 until your exam. Just do as much as you can because you basically have one shot at it. You can retake once if you bomb the first time. More than one retake and you probably won't get into med school anywhere even if you score well.