Advice on paying interest on staffords while in school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tapir

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new veterinary student, and my first semester's staffords have just been disbursed (I'm married with a working husband, and only needed staffords; about 10% less than the stafford max). I've elected to pay interest on the unsubsidized portion while in school rather than having it accrue and capitalize, which means that I will borrow more than I would otherwise have, as I will need more cash monthly in order to pay this interest. My thinking was/is that even though the higher principal borrowed will mean more interest to be paid, this is more than compensated for by the tax benefits of paying off interest while in school (i.e. deducting the interest paid).

I wanted to check my logic with the folks here before I actually start making monthly interest payments, and while it's still easy to reverse my decision. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

This is a very good question and something that I get pretty foggy about. My lender does not capitalize the interest that accrues in the unsubsidized staffords until you enter repayment, so paying the interest on the unsubsidized staffords now doesn't make sense for me. However, I guess I might be stuck with a pretty big interest payment once I start repayment to avoid this capitalization.

But I'm not sure if this is true with all lenders. I'd suggest looking at the fine terms of your lender agreement or maybe calling your lender to ask when they capitalize the interest. I'll do a little more research, too, and report back.

Members don't see this ad :)