Advice, please...tough situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cough

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I have a situation I need help resolving. A little background first:

I graduated last year having majored in biochemistry, but I focused most of my studies on organic chemistry. Because of my interests, I worked for 2.5 years in an orgo research lab. It was a productive lab, but my experience was completely soured by the graduate student I worked under. Not only was he really derisive, but he was pushy with his homosexuality (I'm male). Not an ideal environment, anyhow.

I eventually transferred to a different project in the same group, but that never went anywhere. One big reason: I had to leave school for a semester for surgery, and I never was able to catch up. Because of massive post-op back pain, I quit my research project all together, and had to concentrate on graduating.

I'm fine, but needless to say the lab research experience did not work out as I had hoped. Now I'm applying to MD/PhD programs, and I obviously have to address these issues. I have plenty of letters of recommendation, and I'm taking 2 years off post-grad to do research at a hospital (1st year almost completed). This has been an overwhelmingly positive experience, and I am consequently really interested in being a physician scientist (also, I don't want to sound like a whiny complainer).

The problem is, because my experiences in this lab were so negative, and because I ended up having to quit my work early, I haven't asked that PI for a letter. In fact, I don't want to ask him, and I don't think it would be appropriate to do so. He's a very nice guy and was understanding, but I've not kept in touch, etc. The whole thing is just awkward, and I don't want some odd, luke-warm letter going to schools.