advice please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

needshelpnow

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i need some advice on my situation. i graduated college last year from a top undergrad but with a mediocre gpa (3.1) i had a miserable experience with the MCAT the first go around (23) but have taken it again this past April and got a 34. i've taken supplemental classes at a local university in physiology and other advanced bio classes to boost my application and have done well. what do you think are my chances to get into a school...any school? for the past year i had a teaching fellowship and will be doing research this year. thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

I think u're worrying too much. U're doing better than I am. U're good to go! ;)

thanks...but how will schools look at the lower score? do med schools average your mcat scores, or do they just take the higher one?

Members don't see this ad :)
yeah-- you're doing fine. you can't change that undergrad gpa or your first mcat, so don't dwell on it. i'm in a similar situation-- i graduated from UNC with a 3.1 (strong upward trend), i took some post-bacc classes, did fine on the mcat, and i have TONS of clinical and research experience. if i'm okay, you should be too. i'm NOT guaranteeing interviews and acceptances (wish i could), but i think you'll do okay. just make sure you get your apps in early and apply to a broad range of schools.

best of luck!! keep us posted!!

they usually just take the higher one. i haven't heard of any averaging scores, although a few might. the 34 is quite good and shows the schools you have a good grasp of the material.
your gpa is kind of low, but that doesn't mean you won't get in. just make sure you apply to many schools. how is your science gpa? that is probably what's most important. if it's less than 3.1, you might want to consider taking a few additional undergrad science classes to boost it.