Advice regarding research opportunity

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted564496

Hey guys.. I'm looking for some advice regarding some research I could do this summer. I an MS1 about to finish up for the year and really need to decide if I'm going to take this opportunity or not. I've never done research before and I'm really not entirely sure that I'll like it. It is bench research and I really like the project/the mentor I'd be working with. At the same time, I'd rather just enjoy my summer to be perfectly honest. HOWEVER… I still don't know how big of a deal research really plays into matching. At this point I obviously have no clue what I want to do…. I'm not interested in the super competitive stuff, but am interested in gas, em, peds-im, etc. I'm also extremely interested in cardiology… Which brings me to my questions.

#1 does research in medical school play any sort of role when trying to get into a fellowship (cards/any other IM subspecialties)? Or will it just be about what you did in residency?

#2 is research really needed for things like gas and EM?

If this is something that will really help out later on down the road then I will definitely do it. It seems like a great time to get an idea of how to do research and whatnot, but I really just don't know how "worth it" it actually is. I guess my thoughts are that it could be a good time to learn how to do bench research, but am I going to be doing more clinical research later on and thus it won't matter anyways? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I still don't know how big of a deal research really plays into matching.