Advice/Tips would be awesome

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MD021

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I currently finished my first quarter of 3rd year at UC Davis. Although I always wanted to pursue medicine, I didn't give it serious thought until towards the end of last season. Therefore I only started my clinical experience this year. So far I have 40 hours at a gynecology medical/surgical department, which I will have 40 more hours by the end of next quarter to complete the internship. I have some volunteer experience in a community service club and I have been helping a family friend at his dental office every summer since high school.
My GPA is at an ok 3.55, and I think my science gpa is 3.6. However, I think I have a decent upward trend because my GPA during my first 4 quarters was 3.38 and i managed to get 3.67,3.73,3.83,3.77 during my last 4 quarters (one of which was an extra summer session I took). I also managed to get A,A,A- in my organic chemistry series (last part of ochem was during 6 week summer session which was a bit fast paced for me). I am very certain that I will be able to maintain the 3.7+ gpa ive been getting.
Seeing as though I made the decision to persue medicine somewhat late, I decided that it was better that I wait to apply for the 2011 admissions rather than the 2010 admissions. This will give me much more time to fill up my ECs and study for MCAT and to raise my GPA.
Assuming I manage to pull up my GPA to 3.6-3.7 and have a 30ish MCAT score and have 2 solid years of EC, where do you think I stand as far as California MD schools? I should be able to get a research position this quarter and Im also starting a tutoring job at my school for biology. Im also considering training to become an EMT later on. What can I do to improve my application? And whats the best or the easiest way to obtain physician shadowing? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.