Advice!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jackie91790

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am apply to PT school this fall, but I am afraid of not getting into any schools. I know to apply to a lot of schools, but I want to make sure I am choosing realistic ones. I am currently a student at Arcadia University and I will probably not make automatic admission requirements. :( I would like to apply to other schools in Pennsylvania or within driving distance. I am considering Widener, the University of Scranton, Sacred Heart, and Neumann University. I am worried about my GPA and will be taking 2 more classes the second summer session, hopefully increasing my GPA to a 3.14. If anyone has advice on where to apply or if I even have a chance it would be greatly appreciated!

Major: Health Administration
Overall GPA:3.33
Core PT GPA:3.02
GRE: taking in June
Observation hours: 300+ in Transitional Care and Rehab

Members don't see this ad.

It's tough to know what the admissions reps and program directors at any school are thinking. A few things about GPA: you can't change the past but you can work hard now! Concentrate on your summer classes. Be a model student and complete lots of observation hours in numerous clinical settings. Ask good questions and be helpful; then ask the PTs for recommendations to file. For some schools, a higher GRE will help balance a lower GPA. And look at the core pre-reqs for each college: if you don't have a B or better, consider re-taking the course.
As far as GRE, I would spend the money on a prep course. And remember that most schools and PTCAS will have an essay section, use it to sell yourself and to explain any GPA issues.
Hope that helps! Also, when you do apply, if you get rejected, make an appointment to get feedback from the school. I was rejected from UCF and the feedback session helped me a great deal. I'm thrilled to be attending Nova Southeastern now!