Air Force Audiologist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheAuDfather

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 2nd year AuD student and have recently starting thinking about joining the air force. Here's what I know so far:

1. Air Force does offer a 4th year externship
2. Joining the AF as an AuD, you start with a commission as an O-3, with all the pay, benefits and responsibilities thereof.
3. The 4th year externship is located in Lackland AFB, TX
4. After graduating, the AF requires 3 additional years of Active Duty Service
5. Most AuD duty rotations are in the US, but there are four locations overseas where an AF AuD can be stationed (England, Italy, Germany & Japan).

So i'm wondering if there are any audiologists who are currently serving in the Air Force that would be willing to chat to answer some other questions that I have. Before pursuing the AF, I'd like to know about things like deployment schedule/duration, advancement opportunities/requirements etc. I would love to hear from anyone who can give me the inside scoop!

Members don't see this ad.

I also have been wondering about this as well. If you find any info would you mind emailing it to me as well? It would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad :)
Before pursuing the AF, I'd like to know about things like deployment schedule/duration, advancement opportunities/requirements etc. I would love to hear from anyone who can give me the inside scoop!

Having grown up in the Air Force, I've definitely put some thought into eventually joining as an audiologist. I'd love to be able to combine two things I love so much, and it helps that the benefits you'd receive as an officer in the AF are pretty great.

I'd love to hear about anything you manage to find out! :)