airway case

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cleansocks

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hola,

In a few days I'll have the following case:

Lap adrenalectomy (presumed mets from RCC) for dude with propensity for cancer development. Years ago had radiation to the neck and big neck dissection for oral cancer. Anesthetic records in 2009 and 2010 each have a similar airway story: multiple attempts at awake fiberoptic failed, subsequently intubated blind. I believe blind nasal on the second one (2010) but the first one (2009) seems to indicate that despite trying a 5.5 ETT they couldn't pass it through the nares.

So far I'm thinking of trying the AFOI again just in case previous people sucked (unlikely), having ENT there, blind nasal as backup since it worked before - although I have little experience with this, and despite the running joke on these forums, maybe retrograde wire (?)... never done it before though.

What else should I be thinking about?

Members don't see this ad.

I would try to gather more information on the prior failed attempts if it was done at your facility. Who did it, how was the patient prepped, and what exactly did they try and or see. Otherwise I wold agree with your plan AFOI, or if you have experience, retrograde wire, with smaller ETT, ENT as back up, possible awake trach.

Members don't see this ad :)
The fact they were able to intubate him blind twice means that there is a hole somewhere that someone was able to insert a tube through.
If there is hole then you should be able to do awake fiberoptic intubation and find that hole if you know how to properly anesthetize the airway.

Reactions: 2 users
I may actually try an awake Glidescope. You may see nothing, you may see everything. Would be very gentle, obviously. Would proceed to fiber if that was obviously futile.

Reactions: 1 users