Alcohol testing at LECOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zooom101

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know why LECOM requires an alcohol test before matriculation? I can understand the drug test, but alcohol isn't illegal. Any thoughts on this? Will they not let you matriculate if you fail an alcohol test?

Members don't see this ad.

if it's just a breathalyzer, just don't drink before you go and i think you'll be fine... (not that I have a lot of experience with breathalyzers) - do they randomly test during the year?

In my experience, it's standard to test for alcohol when doing a drug screen. Usually these tests are ordered in an employment or insurance context, and it's important to know, for example in a work related accident, if the patient was intoxicated.

I think going to your drug test drunk is about as big a red flag as you could put up. I don't know if they'd withdraw your acceptance, but they probably should.

The drug test will be the easiest test you will take in the four years of med school. If you can't pass it, well....

Members don't see this ad :)
Dumb enough to drink before taking an Alcohol test = dumb enough to be denied before matriculation...

Sounds like a valid thought process:laugh: ...

Does anyone know why LECOM requires an alcohol test before matriculation? I can understand the drug test, but alcohol isn't illegal. Any thoughts on this? Will they not let you matriculate if you fail an alcohol test?

DCOM requires a panel 10 alcohol/drug urine test ... appears standard to me.

but they require a drug test? I've never heard of many schools doing this ... How many of your schools out there require this?

This is an interesting topic!

but they require a drug test? I've never heard of many schools doing this ... How many of your schools out there require this?

This is an interesting topic!

:laugh: