All Australian Vet Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smilin1590

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone offer any insight into some the Australian schools? I've been looking on the websites and they really don't have much info. Also does anyone attend U of Q? How is it and is it the same deal as the caribbean schools where you have to take the extra test to practice in the united states? I was really interested in pre-req's and such for these school but everything I've looked at doesn't really offer much insight I really didn't find the aavmc site very helpful for any aussie schools either. Some info would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Many of the Aussie schools are AVMA accredited, which means you are considered on equal footing as a graduate of an American school. The schools' websites would be a good place to start looking for info.

Hi, I'm a 4th year student at Murdoch. You can probably do a search on this forum and dig up a heap of info on any of the AVMA accredited aussie schools.

There are only 3 AVMA accredited uni's here in australia; Murdoch, Melbourne, and Syndey. That means if you graduate from one of them you take the NAVLE and any appropriate state boards and you are a vet. You don't graduate with a DVM typically (except melbourne) but you graduate with the equivalent and can still be referred to as "Dr." -- (Australian's tend to call their vets by their first names, especially coworker to coworker, but YMMV).

UQ is working on accreditation, but has not received it yet. From a student who transferred in last year and one who transferred into our school this year (both into my year) they have quite a way to go before they will get the accreditation (potentially sooner than any of the carib schools, but no one has a firm date). -- so yes it is the same deal as the carib schools at the moment with needing to take the extra exam ($$$, waiting period)