am i a non-trad and do i need recent coursework?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

akanene

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i graduated from undergrad in may 2003, did a year of service work and am now in south america this year working and am planning on applying this summer (i would have been out for 3 years if i start fall 2006.. praying to the med school gods that i get in anywhere)... ive heard that its good for non-trads to have recent coursework, but dont know if i fall into this category (i might have to take stats as a pre-req to apply to ucla... kill me)... any advice on if i should take some courses while im applying (and am i bound to take them if i list them as future coursework on the amcas??), if so which ones are recommended and does it makes a difference where you end up taking them (as in can i take it at a community college to save money or is it better to take them at a 4 year institution).. thanks for any help out there... i dont want to be lazy, but a lot of med schools websites are vague and expensive international phone calls to admissions offices are not too appealling

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think it'd be a bad idea to take some courses...even if just to get reacclimated.

Whether you NEED to probably depends a lot on the rest of your file/app, where you're applying (how competetive), what your state of residence is, etc.

I would suggest taking a couple of courses at a community college. Just re-enforces your dedication and will ease adcoms' minds (and perhaps yours) as to your current competency in science courses. Whether they're absolutely necessary depends on the schools. Try sending out some e-mails with your question and see if you can get any feedback that way.

Members don't see this ad :)