1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Am I being a smart [email protected]@???

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Tweetie_bird, Aug 24, 2002.

  1. Tweetie_bird

    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    So on the Tulane (and other applications) it asks me to list my grades. 6 credits are needed for biology. So, my ENTIRE General Biology series SUCKS!! i mean, my highest grade in Biology was a 3.0. My lowest was 2.1. That was when I was "academically challenged" aka immature.

    Now, in my upper level Biology classes, I have had 3.7's to 4.0's. That's when I got my act together etc.

    So, my question is--for the Biology grades they are requesting, is it okay for me to put down my Biochemistry and Upper level Zoology and Biology grades, instead of Gen Biology? I just wanna make a better impression, but does that make me look like a smartass??
     
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. Bounty

    Bounty 1K Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm
    I thought we were only supposed to fill out that part if we hadn't completed the courses when we submitted AMCAS?
    Are you talking about question 6?
     
  4. Tweetie_bird

    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    hhmmmm is that right???? I'll look into it.

    But could you please answer that question anyway?
     
  5. I don't know about Tulane, but I think in most applications this section is for all premed requirements. I think it's ok to list the upper division ones if they are good substitutes for the general bio, or if you list both.
     
  6. Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003]

    Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003] Platinum Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tweetie, com'n read it carefully. It asks you to list the classes you have taken or planning to take since you completed your AMCAS. So you do need to enter classes that are in your AMCAS application.
     
  7. Adcadet

    Adcadet Long way from Gate 27
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,155
    Likes Received:
    11
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    If they want to know what you got in general bio, they can look the damn grade up on AMCAS. Why do schools require us to use AMCAS if they just ignore it? I say put down whatever makes you look best and make them look up your general bio grade in AMCAS if they care that much.
     
  8. Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003]

    Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003] Platinum Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    1
    People look at the application. They are not asking about the classes that are on AMCAS.
     
  9. uclabruins47

    uclabruins47 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    The question asks

    "IF you had NOT completed these courses [premed reqs] when you submitted your amcas" then write it down.

    which means if you HAD taken them, you don't have to put them down.


    hope that makes it clear
     
  10. Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003]

    Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003] Platinum Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's what I am talking about
     
  11. Tweetie_bird

    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    hey guys,
    sorry I couldn't post all day. Yes, I didn't read it right. I got pulled into the last column that says "grades received" and I assumed they wanted all our grades. I was working on this at 2:30 a.m yesterday. I need to learn how to relax. :confused: Thanks for looking out for me!!!

    Tweetie
     
  12. UCLA Paratrooper

    UCLA Paratrooper Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    George Washinton's secondary app does asks you to "list the required courses that fulfill our prerequisite requirements." What would you guys do? Put higher upper divsion with better grades? Would a Genetics class be considred Biology? Thanks!

    UCLA Paratrooper
     

Share This Page