Am I too far behind? Only beginning research my junior year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

didyouknow96

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Basically, I feel very upset and worried about my choices in undergrad. I was considering going into OT for the past two years. I worked in a rehabilitation science lab for one semester my freshman year, but my friend passed away during that time so I was kind of out of it. Aside from putting RA on my resume, I have no publications or anything to show for that time. My sophomore year I didn't work in a lab, I worked at a rehab facility for people with dementia, alzheimer's, and parkinson's. Over the summer I worked as a teacher because I wanted to try that out, plus it paid really well and gave me free housing on campus. Now I'm realizing I really do want to go into academia and pursue a PhD in psychology; I have and have always had a strong interest in psychopathology. I've secured a position next semester working in a lab study social language in children with autism. I will definitely try to get a research position over the summer as well. Right now I am studying abroad and interning at an outpatient mental health facility. I feel so stupid for not pursuing more opportunities with labs in the past two years. Sigh.

Just wondering what point others were at their junior year of college, and if I will be qualified to apply for a paid research position after graduation.

Members don't see this ad.