Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Am I totally screwed?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by WannabeMD, Apr 11, 2001.

1. Hello,
    I am new to this forum, and have a question for anyone qualified to help me answer it. I am a senior at Gettysburg College with a 3.2 GPA, but only a 2.5 BCPM. I have 4 C's on my transcript. I had a D in organic, but retook it and got a B+ and B-. I'm taking my MCATs in 10 days(God help me)...on practice exams, I've gotten in the 25 range. I'm a Biology and Spanish double major and philosophy minor here. I've had lots of volunteer experience and have become bilingual in Spanish after studying for a semester in Guadalajara, Mexico. I'm also involved in tons of extracurricular activities. I want to be a physician more than anything!!! I'm already taking a year off since I went abroad, and I was planning on starting to apply this June to enter in the Fall of 2002. During my year off, I'm going back to study in Mexico, working 2 jobs and shadowing a physician, getting married, and taking a few classes. I was planning on co-applying to accelerated nursing programs, as well as some graduate programs in Spanish. That way, if I don't get in the first time, I could reapply during my year of graduate work. Several physicians I've talked to have told me that I have a very good chance of getting in, regardless of grades, because of my activities and language skills. Others have told me to look at other careers. I know I can do this, even if I have to wait a few years. My question to all of you is do you think I have a chance? Would it be better for me to take some classes, work, etc. and then do a year of grad school before applying or do you think it's worth my while to apply for Fall of 2002 and just take classes and work for my year off? I'm really just looking for any knowledgeable opinions on my situation. I know I want to go into medicine, and I wouldn't mind waiting