AMA CPT codes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HMSBeagle

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
When you get a quote for a procedure at the AMA CPT code, is that what the physician gets paid for a procedure, visit, study etc? I see there are two quotes, one for Facility and another one for Non facility. What does this mean and how does it work? If say you are doing a CABG you bill for the CABG only or do you also bill for harvesting the vessels?

Members don't see this ad.

When you get a quote for a procedure at the AMA CPT code, is that what the physician gets paid for a procedure, visit, study etc? I see there are two quotes, one for Facility and another one for Non facility. What does this mean and how does it work? If say you are doing a CABG you bill for the CABG only or do you also bill for harvesting the vessels?

a cpt code discussion in allo? really? ok...
i'm not an expert in this area, but this is my understanding:

when you see a fee schedule with associated CPT codes, you are seeing what the physician will CHARGE for a given procedure (which is NOT the same as what the physician would get paid).

The non-facility quote is the amount the physician would be reimbursed if they performed that procedure in their own office. You'll probably notice the quote is a lot more money than the facility quote. That's because the non-facility quote reimburses the doctor not only for the work s/he performed, but also for the materials, supplies, equipment, etc. utilized.

The facility quote is the amount the physician would be remibursed if they performed in a facility, i.e. a hospital. The hospital would then bill separately for the "technical component" -- room, equipment, supplies, etc.