Quantcast

AMCAS VS AACOMAS GPA Discrepancy/error.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AmmoniaEggs

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
2

Members don't see this ad.
Been a member for a while, New account because I absolutely want to keep anonymity with this post.

I have a discrepancy on GPA between on my AACOMAS VS AMCAS application

My AMCAS application is correct. It has my CGPA as a 3.85 and my SGPA as a 3.72

However, it seems AACOMAS has them switched, My science GPA shows at 3.85 and my CGPA a 3.72

I am trying to decide if I should contact AACOMAS, or if it is good that my Science GPA shows as higher?

Any input would be appreciated. Thank you, guys.
 

rhenna

Medically Blonde
Joined
Jun 5, 2017
Messages
62
Reaction score
41
Are you sure this discrepancy is not due to math not being included in the AACOMAS Science GPA? That's why mine was different.

Edit: Just saw that you said they were completely swapped. That's definitely unusual, my cGPA was the same for both.
 
Last edited:

rhenna

Medically Blonde
Joined
Jun 5, 2017
Messages
62
Reaction score
41
Math is what now?

*scrambles to apply using AACOMAS*
YUP. That was pretty much my response. It was kind of a good news, bad news situation for me. I got really excited when I saw they classified computer science classes as math, and then saw that math didn't go into the science GPA at all. :laugh:
 

joeception

Full Member
5+ Year Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
237
Reaction score
160
I would take it if it was an error or not. SGPA is one of the most important parts of your application.
 

gonnif

Rule One: Take a Breath
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2009
Messages
24,210
Reaction score
41,466
AMCAS science is ONLY BCPM (Biology, Chem, Physics, Math) vs All Other (everything else)
AACOMAS science is all science (including geology, oceanography, computer science, and the rest), vs All Other (including Math)
 

medguy24

Full Member
2+ Year Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2014
Messages
287
Reaction score
57
The overall gpa should still be the same though


Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

AmmoniaEggs

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Update to this; I've rolled with the GPA being left as it is, 3 DO II so far.
However, I still think personally think there is an error. As they are identical numbers but switched from SGPA to CGPA.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

HanSoloYolo

Full Member
2+ Year Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2017
Messages
94
Reaction score
51
Update to this; I've rolled with the GPA being left as it is, 3 DO II so far.
However, I still think personally think there is an error. As they are identical numbers but switched from SGPA to CGPA.
Sounds like a fantastic problem to have
 
Top