Anatomy lectures

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gerrardsgirl

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do you find them a waste of time? I mean, a good hour of Netter's would do you a lot of good than going to the lectures and trying to listen to your lecturer's monotone voice.

Anatomy can be self-taught right? As long as you have a good textbook like Netter or Moore.

So can someone tell me WHY I should be going to anatomy lectures? Cos I don't see the point really.

I also find that I have more time when I don't go to lectures (40 minute drive to my university) and hence more time to study!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I never went to anatomy for the same reasons you listed. I self-taught it to myself because it's basically all memorization with little comprehension.

Members don't see this ad :)
in our university, going lectures are not obligated. just practises are important. so if u come to our university you don't have such a problem. but i agree with u anatomy lectures are unnecessary.

Anatomy lectures are pointless if all they do is point and name. A good anatomy lecture on the other hand should explain functions and movements of groups of muscles in a way that helps you remember, tie in to embryological or evolutionary reasons why some things are the way they are anatomically (such as legs and arms rotating opposite directions during fetal development - that explains a lot). Or point out important innervations or exceptions to general schemes. Or point out normal anatomic variations that Netter won't tell you about, and could easily throw you off during a practical. Or give useful nmeumonics that help with the rote memorization. Or lots of other things that might be worth sitting through a lecture for.