Anesthesia residency programs in California

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aster123

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a 3rd year medical student and I'm currently in med school in NY and starting to plan for residency. I was wondering whether you guys could give me some pointers about residency programs in California. Which are the 'better' ones (for lack of another word) and what do you think of the programs in general.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

My impression as a CA resident and recent applicant is that they all offer good to great training, except Harbor-UCLA.

In terms of pure reputation in academia, I think UCSF > Stanford > UCLA > UCSD >> the rest is what many would agree on. I did not rank them in that order, and I think a case can be made for ranking any of them #1.

Members don't see this ad :)
Actually, if you are ranking quality of surf: UCSD>UCI>LA progs>UCSF>>>Stanford/Cowtown/Loma Linda

Rank them based on where you want to live...
if living in San Fran is important that UCSF or Stanford is the number one program... don't worry about anything else.. you should get a good training at most programs around..

Actually, if you are ranking quality of surf: UCSD>UCI>LA progs>UCSF>>>Stanford/Cowtown/Loma Linda

Dang, I forgot about UCI. I agree it's up there, but for the overall beach lifestyle, a few more "isolated" spots, and marginally warmer water, I like SD. Though I spose Trestles is midway.

Goddamn do I hate Cleveland.