anesthesia vs pathology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pathman1

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, i am a 3rd yr medical student trying to decide between path and anesthesia. I have pretty much completed my rotations and am basing my decision through a process of elimination. I have boiled it down to anesthesia or path, since i am looking for a good lifestyle field, w/good hours (money is not very important to me). I was wondering if anyone knew which field (anesthesia or path) carries more liability? Which is more stressful? I know anesthesiologists make more money (but again this not extremely important to me). If you mess up in anesthesia--does that mean you're branded by the surgreons as a poor anesthesiologist and they may chose not to work with you? I know the fields are on opposite sides of the spectrum but just curious if anyone had any feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

Just look at your username. I don't think you even need to ask the question.

Enjoy the specimens.

Sounds like you would be more interested in path. The lifestyle is arguably one of the best. I know based on my wife's experience so far - she is a first year path resident. No in-house call EVER. Normal weekday hours are like 8-5. The two specialties, one might argue, have the same level of stress. The physician in each makes critical life-or-death decisions, and is part of a team. I believe the anesthesiologist faces more liability.

I chose anesthesia because I hated looking into a microscope, and thought pathology was boring as a student. I like the action involved in anesthesia without having to live like a surgeon. I hope you are posting the same inquiries on the path board.