animal experience for vet school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cyn11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new here so I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, or if there's already been a thread about it, but here it goes:

I'm currently in my last year getting my MS in biology and would like to enter vet school. I'm also going to be 26 this year, so I would like to move this process along ASAP. The thing is that I don't have any kind of experience working with animals and can't get a recommendation from a vet, so I am thinking about taking a year off after I graduate to get some experience and taking just one or two missing prereqs.

I was hoping to volunteer somewhere this summer and apply for next year, but seeing as how applications are due very early, I doubt I can establish any kind of relationship with a vet and get his/her recommendation. I also would like to get some actual experience of course, and not just rush in and out somewhere just to get a letter. So, I've figured that I won't even start vet school until I'm 28, so I'm having pretty heavy anxiety about the age issue. I've read some posts about people in their 30s going to vet school, but most of them are making career changes, not first moves.

So I guess I have 2 questions: where do you recommend getting experience? I have to volunteer at some clinic of course, but I fear that I'll just be dusting floors and cleaning cages, and won't actually get to work with any vets. I also have a BS in biology (and will have MS soon), so I'm wondering if that qualifies me for anything else. I very honestly don't mind just cleaning cages, but I just wanted to see all the options, and I really need that recommendation from a vet - there I've said it!