cdea

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Apr 29, 2005
Status (Visible)
Just wanted to say hello and that I find the topics on this board very informative and motivating. I’ve been away from these boards since 2005. Also I will apologize right away for my ignorance or misconceptions about the field of Optometry in case I write something that may cause tension.

I am a very non traditional optometry student / hopeful. I got my Bachelor Degree in Business MIS from CSULB in 03 and took the easiest route possible as I thought that would be the extent of my education. Since then I have been working in the IT field full time for a few companies. About 2 to 3 years ago I decided to look into other career paths, mainly something in the medical field, and Optometry is the most appealing to me. I have always been afraid of science classes, paying student loans after school, taking the prereqs in time to apply within a year because of my age, fear of Wal-Mart’s and Costco’s taking over the profession etc etc. All of these deadlines and factors kind of got me discouraged so I ended up just sticking with work hating my job from time to time.
I now have decided to go back and continue working towards becoming an Optometrist. I plan to work on my prereqs at my own pace to get the grades since I need to take just about all of them instead of trying to rush the work. Unfortunately during my undergrad I took the easiest route possible which means my GPA is not the greatest. Maybe 2.3 or 2.5 if I can remember. I am sure this will hurt my chances of getting in and I am hoping that getting better grades on my prereqs will carry me into a school. I plan to apply at SCCO or Western since I am from socal and will be getting married in 2009 as well.