another question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dreambig2night

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is an issue that I need some help with:

I am a student applying to DO schools for the Fall of 2006. Currently, I am filling out my secondaries and hope to have them turned in by the first week of december. At the same time I will also be sending my committee package which includes all my letters of rec. to these schools. My only problem is that I do not have the quintessential letter from a DO physician in my package. I hate myslef for not shadowing a DO earlier!
anyway, next week I have set an appointment with a DO and plan on learning as much as I can on that day.
But it doesnt seem right to ask for a letter on my first appointment with him.
Some of my friends have suggested that I should'nt be embarrased and should go ahead and ask since most people do that anyways. Is this true?

If not, I was thinking of sending my committee letters without the DOs letter and asking him to send his letter individually to each school I have applied later after I have gone to his office a few more times.

Members don't see this ad.

dreambig2night said:

I am a student applying to DO schools for the Fall of 2006. Currently, I am filling out my secondaries and hope to have them turned in by the first week of december. At the same time I will also be sending my committee package which includes all my letters of rec. to these schools. My only problem is that I do not have the quintessential letter from a DO physician in my package. I hate myslef for not shadowing a DO earlier!
anyway, next week I have set an appointment with a DO and plan on learning as much as I can on that day.
Some of my friends have suggested that I should'nt be embarrased and should go ahead and ask since most people do that anyways. Is this true?