Any good Advice to study strategies?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lindseywlkr711

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I am a 4th year biomedical science major. I was planning to take my MCAT September 27th but due to low practice test scores and lots of family stress at home I decided to cancel my test and take it in March.

Basically, I started studying in May/June pretty lightly I did the Kaplan books for gen chem, orgo, bio, biochem, and physics. For psych I watched KA vids and tried to read the 300 and then the 86 page documement. I got the EK CARS passage practice book and tried to do a passage a day. Come July I started to study a lot harder but I was also working full-time so I couldn't really put as much time towards my MCAT as I wanted to. Then, my mother had to have heart/vascular surgery and my dad got diagnosed with oral cancer. On top of that, earlier in the year my grandmother got diagnosed with breast cancer (and beat it) and I had a very close uncle of mine get in a horrific car accident. This year has been pretty stressful for me and since I spent so much time taking care of my parents since my moms surgery and dads treatment started the same week I really got behind on my studying. By the time I found out about Anki,and coursesaver, there was just too little time left to improve my score. These are how my practice tests went...

(4/3) NS diagnostic 491 (121/123/123/124)
(8/4) NS FL 1 499 (124/124/125/126)
(8/19) AAMC Sample ~496 (123/125/124/124) used this link to find score-->
(9/2) AAMC FL 1 499 (124/124/125/126)
(9/9) AAMC FL 3 499 (127/123/124/125) (WOW ON THE C/P THOUGH!!!!!!!!!!!)

So I have 6 months to study and here is my plan....
1. Go through Kaplan books, make Anki cards on WHATEVER I do not understand or am iffy on
2. watch coursesaver videos (what brought up my CP from 124 to 127 in just 1 week) and make Anki cards on what I do not know