any other confused DO's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prankster

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm a 4th year DO student planning to apply to allopathic residencies. i was hoping someone could clear some of these questions about internship up.

This is my understanding: To practice in those five or seven states or whatever, we have to do an osteopathic internship. However, from what i've read, we are not allowed to take the ABPN boards if we do an osteopathic internship. The way around this would be to do a dual accredited internship (though there aren't many of those). But if we match in a dual accredited internship, won't we be automatically kicked out of the categorical (PGY1-4) MD programs in the allopathic match? If we do an allopathic internship and get it approved via Resolution 42, does that also allow us to practice in those states or does that just give us AOA approval?

Also, a totally separate topic, how do you go about applying to these advanced versus categorical programs? Because from going to the program websites, it seems some programs require you to do your internship year there and automatically let you join their internship if you match neuro, some programs require you to do internship there and "apply separately" for the internship, and some programs want you to find your own internship....is there a separate match for internship and residency? i don't get it....sorry it's so long, i'm just completely confused

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I was in your shoes 2 years ago, and I'll try to answer some of your questions.

In order to begin an ACGME only Neurology program, your internship must be ACGME accredited as well, along with meeting the minimum requirements delineated on the ABPN website.