ILuvToPassGas

10+ Year Member
Feb 14, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Seniors,
I am a current UCSF resident and would like to answer any questions you might have about our program while you finalize your match list. Shoot away. . .

Multifidus

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
How are your hours at UCSF? How do you like the call system. Are your hours going to improve with the new CRNAs or are they just going to help with getting you out of the OR and into lectures?

How do you like the call system? Can you please elaborate on it? Is the night float system really brutal?

Thanks.

About the Ads

ILuvToPassGas

10+ Year Member
Feb 14, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
How are your hours at UCSF? How do you like the call system. Are your hours going to improve with the new CRNAs or are they just going to help with getting you out of the OR and into lectures?

How do you like the call system? Can you please elaborate on it? Is the night float system really brutal?

Thanks.

The call system is actually great. You start taking call during the 3rd month of your first year. We have more of a night float system which is awesome in that you are not working very many 24 hour shifts as which a traditional call system, which can be very brutal. You call basically consists of a week of nights where you work 24 hours on sunday and then 6pm-7am M-F. First years will do approximately 4 weeks of nights for the entire year. You will then do a scattering of 12 or 24 hour Saturday shifts. During my first year, I had 45 golden weekends. No joke!