Any suggestions to me (current Pre-Veterinary students and veterinary students)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Laurren

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I start college in January. However, I am thinking that I should transfer to a different college, a college more well-known (I live in Georgia), such as Berry or UGA.
So far, I have 1,500 hours of volunteer work in a veterinary clinic (not sure if this counts, but 350 with livestock, 5,500 hours with a groomer, dog kennel, through training classes, dog shows, aswell as 150 with a fish hatchery). I'm sure I will have to go back and accumulate more hours, however, I do have a few years left, being as I'm just a freshman.
I had a few questions:

What can I do to make myself a more qualified applicant (aside from the good grades and GRE, of course)?

What is an ideal amount of hours for veterinary experience and is there anything "unique" I could be doing to make myself stand out?

Should I take the GRE after I complete my standard English, math, etc. classes (I'm required general education, I can't just go straight to Pre-Veterinary with the school I'm at) so I have plenty of time to go back and re-take? I plan on taking classes in the summer to finish with school earlier, as well.

Is there any advice that can be offered?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I start college in January. However, I am thinking that I should transfer to a different college, a college more well-known (I live in Georgia), such as Berry or UGA.
So far, I have 1,500 hours of volunteer work in a veterinary clinic (not sure if this counts, but 350 with livestock, 5,500 hours with a groomer, dog kennel, and through training classes, and dog shows, aswell as 150 with a fish hatchery). I'm sure I will have to go back and accumulate more hours, however, I do have a few years left, being as I'm just a freshman.
I had a few questions: