Any URMs out there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOUBLEDIGITSII

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a african -American 28 year old female. And med school has been on my brain since high school. I started taking college courses at 14 while going to high school. But then I had a baby at 16 so I dropped out of high school. Fortunately I tested out of high school and resumed college at 16.5 as a pre-med student. As a single mom however, my grades fluctuated. So here's the break dowm of my scores/GPA over the years:

Community college (science) 2.93
UCLA undergrad (neuroscience) 2.39
CSU Dominguez hills (master's in biology)3.5

MCAt 2002 17Q
MCAT 2004 21M
MCAT 2005 19L
MCAT 2006 25R

Currently I am a high school biology teacher in a inner city region. I have volunteer and strong research experience (traumatic brain injury), and strong LOR's.

I guess I want to know of any URM's that got in under extreme circumstances?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a african -American 28 year old female. And med school has been on my brain since high school. I started taking college courses at 14 while going to high school. But then I had a baby at 16 so I dropped out of high school. Fortunately I tested out of high school and resumed college at 16.5 as a pre-med student. As a single mom however, my grades fluctuated. So here's the break dowm of my scores/GPA over the years:

Community college (science) 2.93
UCLA undergrad (neuroscience) 2.39
CSU Dominguez hills (master's in biology)3.5

MCAt 2002 17Q
MCAT 2004 21M
MCAT 2005 19L
MCAT 2006 25R

Currently I am a high school biology teacher in a inner city region. I have volunteer and strong research experience (traumatic brain injury), and strong LOR's.

I guess I want to know of any URM's that got in under extreme circumstances?