Anybody else get excited about learning a new molecular biology technique?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seraph524

M0
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know I do!

I just did my first western blot today, and it was pretty cool! Yea, I know I'm behind in learning research techniques... I can't wait to see my rotation PI's face when I tell them I have never done PCR before :p

Members don't see this ad.

westerns!

how i hate the smell of b-mercaptoethanol!

no kidding...TEMED and DTT too!

i'm going to do my first IP soon...i'll have to admit i'm a little scared due to the cost and time that is going into collecting the necessary sample. it's going to take about four weeks just to get enough cells.

Members don't see this ad :)
dude, i get so excited. I am learning LOH right now and its so exciting. I'd love to be there to see your PI's face when he/she finds out you've never done pcr. :D

I think the worst smell of all is a big, juicy, litre of E. coli LB culture. "YEESH, light a bunsen burner!"

I think the worst smell of all is a big, juicy, litre of E. coli LB culture. "YEESH, light a bunsen burner!"

yeah, ones that have been fermenting over night...yum

you do get accustomed to the smell though - I hardly notice it anymore except when...

storytime: grad student in the lab was hungover and DROPPED a 1L flask full of e. coli - had to get help to clean it up and the whole time people were like "it smells like a$$ in here!!!"

Ugh, I hate doing molecular biology. Good old cookbook science. Here's your recipe for a Western, DO IT EXACTLY LIKE THIS OR IT WILL FAIL. REPEAT UNTIL PhD OBTAINED.

*ducks from the flames of 95% of the MD/PhDs doing molecular biology*

westerns!

I love that smell.

I took a big ole' sniff of it just for the giggle factor, and couldn't get the odor out of my nose. It was a wonderful afternoon...

yeah, ones that have been fermenting over night...yum