anyone a bu student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentaldamit

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
can you give me any insight to BU's program? positives, negatives, workload, typical day, surprise expenses, the laptop policy and textbooks, faculty, post-dental school like residencies, anything would help?

i'm thinking about transferring as a first year.

Members don't see this ad.

I am the husband of doctor squared. I cannot figure out how to make a second profile. I graduated from Northwestern U. Dental School in 1987. Although I went to B.U. undergrad for 1 year before transferring to a more challenging program, I enjoyed the city of Bahstin. When I applyed to dental school B.U. was about the most expensive school and had close to zero inside aid. I would have needed to take out student loans at 20% and pay them back while I was still in school. (HEAL loans). The first year expenses were high because you had to purchase your instruments.

B.U. dental school is in relatively bad area of Boston. It is not near the undergrad campus. The undergrad campus is urban and in a nice area of Boston. The day of my dental school interview I arrived at Logan and took a cab to B.U. The cab driver cursed at me all the way from Logan because he didn't want to go where B.U. was. I guess he wouldn't get a return fare. In retrospect it is an easy ride on the "T."

Why in the world would you transfer dental schools?
Just finish it!:confused:

If you don't think your training is adequate then do a good residency program or go into the military.

Where are you now? Are you bored and you want an urban environment?