Anyone else on the border of going to med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

loren646

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure if I want to pursue this avenue. I do need a good job when I'm 35 or so. Not really sure if this is the way to go.

Anyone else up in the air about this whole thing?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure if I want to pursue this avenue. I do need a good job when I'm 35 or so. Not really sure if this is the way to go.

Anyone else up in the air about this whole thing?

Don't do it to have a "good job". Only do it if this is the only thing you see yourself doing, after researching this and other options more fully. I suggest finding some good healthcare related ECs and some shadowing, so you can see what medicine is all about. It's probably somewhat different than you think.

I'm in the same situation as you loren646.
I'm 25 and I have an undergrad degree in accounting. I've been working in the field for about 5 years. This is not what I see myself doing for another 30+ years.
A career in medicine has been in the back of my head for the last 12 years or so and just now have I decided to make it a reality. Although I have a long way to go before I reach my goal, I know this is something I CAN do and WANT to do.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was planning on applying to PA school because I didn't want to work myself to death and have more time for life outside of medicine. Then I talked to a bunch of PAs, and most of them told me that while they were happy being PAs--and I have yet to meet a PA who isn't happy--if they could do it all over again, they would have gone to medical school; doctors may put in more time in school and residency, but these PAs are working more than their doc counterparts and not making as much money.