Anyone ever found themselves really terrible at STEM but can't let go of wanting to be a doctor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SparklyRainbows

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
Throughout my life, I've gotten many (and continuous compliments) about my writing ability (though it may not be reflected on SDN). My AP Language teacher even said "I had natural talent" and MANY people tell me I am a good writer. I don't get nearly the same amount of compliments about my STEM ability because it's nonexistent!

In HS, I excelled in Spanish, English, and psychology and (seemed to) barely scrape by in my STEM classes, though I mostly earned A's and a few B's in geometry, Algebra 2 and chemistry. STEM was difficult for me, even in high school, and I seemed to either do really well on exams (A+, top score in the class) or completely crap out (earned a few B/B- grades on AP Chemistry tests; heck I even earned a few C's on calculus tests).

Now, don't get me wrong - I didn't earn A's on every single English or humanities paper I ever wrote either, but I have NEVER gotten anything below an A in a humanities or economics class, whereas I've earned tons of B's (3 B+'s and 1 B-) in the premed classes. My science GPA is currently a 3.56. Additionally, I didn't even take every single premed prerequisite either.

Recently, I have been self-studying physics, and I did 67 problems on 1D kinematics. I gotta say, it was not easy, and 1D kinematics is just the beginning! I had to skip and return to a ton of problems that I didn't immediately know how to solve at first. Moreover, my dad (physical chemist) lost his **** at me because I was so lost on this one problem and made "idiotic mistakes."