When you only want to go to one program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmbby

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm looking for some tips for how to target a specific program if there's anything useful to know besides getting to know faculty, talking with admissions, etc. I'm a graduating pharmacy student currently interviewing for pharmacy residency but hoping in a few years I'll be able to matriculate to my current university's medical school. Also happy to hear advice from any PharmD to MD folks.

>Why not other schools?
I'm hoping to be able to buy a house and settle down with my fiancee in the next couple of years. I'm feeling a little too old to uproot for another city for 4 years only to maybe have to move again for medical residency. Plus this is my community and while I do think I could do more good with a medical license than a pharmacy license, it matters most to me to give back to the place where I live now. There's a specific program I would be applying for that I think is a good fit.

>What school would you be applying to?
A good one.

>Why pharmacy residency if you want to change to medicine?
It's the highest quality training I can access at this moment in my career. It will only serve me well as either a pharmacist or a physician. I want to finish what I set out to do when I entered pharmacy school, especially because I made a lot of career changes in my early working years and I want to demonstrate my commitment.

>Why medicine?