anyone explain poor gpa?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kootz

not again!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Did anyone use the explanation area to explain and less than perfect GPA (we're talking a 3.0 here) and have success?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
I talked about a less than stellar GPA - but my GPA was dragged down by (mainly) two terms that were bad because I was a bad student. And I said that. Then I said that I learned from my mistakes, and referenced the next year and a half where I improved and maintained nearly a 4.0 with an equally hard schedule.

(I think I also included a sentence about a commute and a farm job taking up a ton of my time - in reference to how I improved despite these obligations)

The thing is you can't be making excuses. Say why it happened, if you learned and being able to point to proof that you did learn.

I think the most important thing is to show that you have improved dramatically (if it was early on) and/or that it was due to a fluke not consistent with the rest of your record showing your ability to handle tough course loads and/or that it was due to exceptional, extenuating circumstances (if this is true) if it happened recently. If you have an overall mediocre or inconsistent record, I think it will be harder to make a convincing argument that you are ready for the rigors of vet school, and it might be worth staying in college for an extra year to show that you can rock a full-time courseload and get good grades.