Anyone have really old prereqs and not plan on retaking them?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bioteach

MSIV
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from undergrad in 2000, so all my prereqs were taken between 7-9 years ago. However...I completed a master's in bio in 2004 and I currently TEACH all of the bio pre-reqs.

I have heard rumors about schools not accepting pre-reqs past a certain age, but I haven't seen that on ANY school website and it is not in the msar. They all give the oldest MCAT you can submit, but nothing about the age of the pre-reqs.

Anyone have any insight on this??? Should I be worried?

Members don't see this ad.

I took physics in 1988-1989 and am not retaking it. I'm applying this June. My understanding is that a recent decent MCAT score and recent upper div science coursework negate the need to redo a year of lower div physics. I've also seen nothing to indicate that prereqs expire.

Best of luck to you.

Cool. Thanks for your input. I am planning on applying this June as well. Good luck to you, too!

Members don't see this ad :)
I graduated college in 1996. I retook most of my premedical prerequisites in an informal post-baccalaureate program, with the exception of General Biology II + Lab, English, and Calculus I & II, so that there wouldn't be any issues, or doubts, with schools. And true to that, no school that I applied to gave me any problems.

The only way to be sure is to directly contact the school in which you wish to apply and ask them. That would be my suggestion.